The count…

Mathematically, weight is simply an input vs output system. In which depending on input vs output there is either surplus or a need to dip into saved resources. In my experience the toughest part is portion control, I mean how many times have you said to yourself? I’ll have more of this because it isnt SO BAD, or worse yet ITS HEALTHY (try saying that to yourself after having more than one sub from subway, I know I have and its a lie)

By the very act of reading this we are burning calories, Just breathing, and standing up to go to the bathroom. Even the act of eating uses calories. To first find out what we need to do to lose weight we need to first find out what amount of calories will maintain our current weight, then cut away at it. Believe me, this all sounds great, but in practice and over the long run it is hard to keep it up.. (thats why Im here writting this, and taking pictures of my food, every bite now). The amount of calories that is required to maintain your current weight is a function of how active you are as well as your body’s use of energy to keep you breathing. The convention is to use a mathematical formula called the Harris-benedict formula, then to multiply it by the appropriate activity factor. The formula takes into account your weight in pounds height in inches (12 inches/1 ft) and age in years. There are many very good websites that will do this for you… so you dont have to actually do the math. I prefer to do so.

here it is: my Resting metabolic Rate (the amount of calories my body uses to keep me alive) = 66+ (6.23 * 323 pds) + (12.7 * 71 in) – 6.8 x 31yrs). Which equals = 66+ (2012.29)+ (901.7)-210.8= 2769.19. So to continue living and breathing comfortably my body at my current state requires that much just to keep me alive. This however is not a complete picture, since I need to add my activity level. This is always a hard part for me because, I feel like I am sedentary (little or no exercise), but with my track record I plan to exercise at the very least lightly to moderately. I suppose at this time I will go with light exercise. According to my information I must then take that number 2769.19 and multiply it by 1.3 which equals to: 3599.947 (vs 3323.028 for sedentary).

So according to the Math, to maintain my current weight, which I do not wish to… I MUST consume 3599.9 calories. A pound is equivalent to 3500 calories. So If I was to consume a reduced amount of calories by eating less calories I will eventually lose pound after pound. IN THEORY. It is recommended by those of nutritional authority that we reduce our caloric intake by 500 calories a day. so over the period of 7 days we should see a 3500 calorie AKA 1 pound loss. I think that is a fine plan and everyone should do as they think they should. I would like to shoot for a 1600 calorie diet per day to start, which if you consider the labels on food items the normal recommended amount is 2000. If I was able to maintain that amount of calories over the period of a week, I should see a loss of: approx 3 pounds. Not a very DRAMATIC loss, but must better than just 1 pound a week.

For anyone who runs into this and wants to do this math on their own here are the forumlas:
Daily amount of calories needed = RMR * activity factor.

Women: RMR = 655 + ( 4.35 x weight in pounds ) + ( 4.7 x height in inches ) – ( 4.7 x age in years )
Men: RMR = 66 + ( 6.23 x weight in pounds ) + ( 12.7 x height in inches ) – ( 6.8 x age in year )

Activity Factor:
Sedentary: 1.2
lightly active: 1.3
moderately active: 1.5
very active: 1.7
extra active: 1.9

(please consult a Dr before starting any weight loss program or to be sure that you are able to exercise)

Next I will have to consider the amounts that I will/should be consuming in my foods totaling 1600 calories.

Leave a Reply

